North Korea: EU sanctions 17 DPRK nationals


The European Council has added 17 individuals to its list of those subject to an asset freeze and travel restrictions. These listings come in addition to those drawn up by the United Nations, complementing and reinforcing the UN sanctions regime.

The sanctions have been adopted as a means of maintaining pressure on the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK) in view of its continued and accelerated development of nuclear and ballistic programmes in flagrant disregard of previous UN Security Council resolutions.

The 17 individuals have been identified due to their involvement in illegal trade activities and activities aimed at facilitating the evasion of sanctions imposed by the UN, including from abroad.

The decision brings the total number of individuals and entities autonomously designated by the EU under restrictive measures against the DPRK to 58 individuals and 10 entities. In addition, 79 individuals and 54 entities are listed by the UN.

%d bloggers like this: