Catherine Ashton, High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice President of the Commission, announced the appointment of three new Heads of EU Delegations. The new appointments, part of the 2013 rotation exercise within the European External Action Service (EEAS), are as follows:

Catherine Ashton

Catherine Ashton

Pirkka Tapiola has been appointed Head of the EU Delegation to Moldova. He is currently an advisor in the EEAS on developments in Eastern Europe and Central Asia and has also worked as senior advisor at the Council of the EU; before that he was a Finnish diplomat with postings in Ukraine and Thailand.

Rensje Teerink has been appointed Head of the EU Delegation to Nepal. She is an Asia specialist with more than 25 years of experience, currently working in the EEAS; previously she was also working for the Commission. Prior to joining the Commission she was a lecturer in her native Netherlands as well as researcher in Asia.

Aude Maio-Coliche has been appointed Head of the EU Delegation to Venezuela. Now working at the EEAS headquarters, she has already been posted at the EU Delegation in Caracas and has gained extensive experience with various Latin America issues while in the European Commission.

Catherine Ashton said: “I am delighted to announce the appointment of these excellent candidates to head up three challenging EU Delegations abroad. Their talent and expertise are significant assets for the EU’s external action and I look forward to working with them in their new roles”.

NB: To complete appointments, an accreditation request for a new Head of Delegation is sent to the host country. The selected candidate may take up duty only once accreditation of the host country has been granted and a number of administrative formalities have been completed.

For more information:

%d bloggers like this: